SAME TIME TOMORROW

Quick brain update

Posted in Uncategorized by Sean Holton on June 30, 2010

Not my brain

  Today was four weeks to the day after my June 2 surgery, and I celebrated with some more good news. I had an MRI brain scan done this morning at Orlando Regional Medical Center’s Lucerne Pavilion and a follow-up meeting this afternoon with Dr. George Bobustuc, my neuro-oncologist.

The scan came back almost as clean as the iconic Homer Simpson scan pictured here, but there is still some residual fluid around the outer edges of my brain that is part of the post-surgical healing process (and, unbelievably, is not merely Budweiser). Either way, it needs to go away. The doc also said he wants to keep a close eye on a small spot that he called a “nodule” near the margin of the new cavity. He thinks it most likely is a scar or scab resulting from the surgical incision, and that it will probably heal naturally on its own. But we’ll have to monitor it carefully, so he wants me to get another scan in about four weeks.  

The best news is that Dr. Bobustuc now believes that my original, pill-form chemotherapy drug (Temodar) has not failed — as was feared in May when the doctors identified what they believed to be recurrent tumor cells and opted for the second surgery. As it turned out, the doctor explained today, the pathology report on the removed tissue was unable to parse a sufficient quantity of live tumor cells even to do an in-depth analysis like the one that was done after my first surgery. So that means most of what was taken out this time was either healthy tissue or necrosis (dead cancer cells) that had been killed off in my earlier radiation and chemo treatments.  Yay Temodar!  Maybe we should throw a bunch of those pills at the BP spill in the Gulf.

The only issue with Temodar going forward is that it is so powerful that I need to scale back the dosage to reduce its effect on my bone marrow, white blood cells and immune system. I’ve been taking it now and it’s been keeping the cancer in check since last August. So now the doctor wants to keep me on lower doses of Temodar and bring in a new, pill-form chemo agent called Xeloda — which is not as hard on the bone marrow. He also will have me taking daily doses of Celebrex (the anti-arthritis pill, which promotes the effect of cutting off any potential blood supply that tumors need to grow). So starting next week and until further notice, I will be taking all three drugs on a 14-day cycle (7 days on, 7 days off, 7 days back on, etc.). My next scan will give us an idea of how it’s all working.  

The bottom line: Yes, I still have brain cancer. But long after it might have taken away my life if my case put me in the normal survival range, it is not even starting to beat me. And my doctor reiterated that he expects to be treating me “for many, many years”. There will of course be rough patches along the way, but all in all I am happy with that outlook. It’s as least as good as the U.S. draw against England during World Cup group play. And that was pretty damned exciting.  

July 24 will be the one-year anniversary of my diagnosis. At that point, I will consider myself an official cancer survivor. I may even get a T-shirt out of the deal.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angie said, on June 30, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Sean awesome news I can’t even believe it. Congratulations and you will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. Good luck

  2. Keith Kohn said, on June 30, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Sean,

    This is great news. Congrats! You already are a cancer survivor. Keep kicking ass! All your friends are pulling for you, as you already know.

  3. Bluedevil said, on June 30, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    As the great prophet Mick Jagger noted: “It’s only rocknroll… but I like it.”

    Sounds like it’s almost time to swat the dimpled ball again, Seanboy.

  4. fish said, on June 30, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    excellent!! of course, if you were a real man like Gen. McChrystal, you’d be drinkin’ Bud Light Lime… fortunately, not so much like him!

    and let me know about those t-shirts! i’d buy one!

  5. Pookie said, on June 30, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Got them Mojo’s workin!

  6. Scary said, on June 30, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    “Many, many years….” Oh I really, really like that.
    Let’s toast some of that Bud Light Lime to that medical team of yours.

  7. Maxtrue said, on June 30, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    I bet you knew there was something else you REALLY excelled at. Now aren’t you glad it was surviving this? Yep, going for most runs scored. You’ll do it you know.

    Highest ROE in the majors…….

  8. Paul Lester said, on June 30, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Fantastic news! Go Sean, Go! BTW, Temodar and Xeloda sound like good names for heavy metal bands.

  9. Theola said, on July 1, 2010 at 6:48 am

    great news Sean!! I, too, like the sound of many, many years. I am so happy for you. We want you around for a long time so we can enjoy your company!!
    Love
    Theola

  10. Elaine said, on July 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Fantastic, Sean.

    And Paul — I had the same thought when I read the names of the drugs, but I was thinking of a brain cancer video game, with Temodar and Xeloda as the action heroes. Oof! Pow! Zam! Sean prevails!

  11. Blonde Wino said, on July 1, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I am glad you are blessed with a Homer-like brain! I am betting it’s a scab!

    Great news, LL.

  12. claudine hellmuth said, on July 1, 2010 at 11:58 am

    YAY sean!!!! so happy!

  13. Maxtrue said, on July 1, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Sean I hope Christopher H can find some strength in your diary. Again, bravo..and let me correct an earlier comment -for this struggle, there are no are no Rules Of Engagement, just whatever it takes to win…….

  14. Janice Blase said, on July 4, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Fabulous news, Lard! Not sure how I missed this on 6/30, but I’m sure glad I checked in on you tonight (online, I mean) to see how things are going. Keep kicking that cancer ass…and I’d buy one of those t-shirts, too!

  15. patd said, on July 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    good news, lard. like janice, don’t know how i missed seeing it.
    we need a team tee shirt printed up that says on the front: i am a survivor. and on the back: now what?

  16. Patsi said, on July 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Great going!

  17. Jamie said, on July 5, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    That is such good news. If you do the “survivor” T-Shirt, count me in.

  18. RebelliousRenee said, on July 7, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Sean….
    sorry for being late in coming here…. I am so happy for you!
    please take care and continue to give us this type of news.

  19. Beth said, on July 19, 2010 at 2:10 am

    Hi Sean, don’t know you yet — friend of Cheryl and Duane Daugherty in Kansas City. I live in Washington state — also have GBM. Please email me, if you want to, so we can talk. My email is mom.smom.beth@gmail.com. Thanks


Leave a Reply

