SAME TIME TOMORROW

Nail soup

Posted in Uncategorized by Sean Holton on September 24, 2009

Test_PatternI’m still kicking, just not very hard right now. So I don’t have much new to report. Wednesday was another one of those days where I hardly had enough energy even to think about how little energy I have. The exhaustion from daily radiation comes in waves. I’m still eating well, haven’t lost any weight and the only weird side effect — Crazy Ass Eye — seems to have gone away for good. Plenty of food in the house. Power and water still on. Lawn mowed. Dogs are still happy. Kathleen going home today. More reinforcments coming in. Just one more week to go.

I was able to make only one good joke Wednesday at my weekly checkup: My doctor asked me to remind him if I was taking steroids. I told him no — despite all the criticism in the press about the unbelievable home run totals I have amassed this season. He laughed and said that was a good one.

“That joke’s just been sitting out there for years, waiting for someone to grab it,” the doctor said. “And you’re the first one who has. So congratulations. You made my day.”

I can’t believe I’m the first to have cracked that line. But I’ll take it where I can.

So all in all, a good day. Except tired. Did I mention that already?

I hope to be able to report more tomorrow.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. RebelliousRenee said, on September 24, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Sean….
    I think you finding energy to post anything everyday through your treatment is a miracle.
    Even if it was only a sentence….. yet here you are posting whole treatises.

    Your mission…. should you decide to accept it…. is to get as much rest as you need.

    and oh yeah…. give those doggies a kiss from me, willya….

  2. Pookie said, on September 24, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Keep on keepin on Sean.

  3. Jamie said, on September 24, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Congratulations on those astounding stats. Coming up with a line a doctor hasn’t heard is like pitching a no hitter.

  4. Pat & Becky said, on September 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Cheech “Hey man, what are you watching”

    Chong “I don’t know, it’s a movie about Indians, but it’s really boring.”

    Rest and rejuvenate, sean…and always know that you are in our thoughts.

    P & B

  5. fish said, on September 24, 2009 at 11:22 am

    again, napping is wonderful – even better when you have an excuse!! (i have none but maybe old age!)

  6. Sue Holton said, on September 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Sean, all I can say is your Dad (king of jokes) would be dam happy with your joke and proud of you for making your Dr.’s day. Hang in there Sean, your treatment finish line is almost in sight.
    I Love you Sean!

  7. claudine hellmuth said, on September 24, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    feel better!! get lots of rest and don’t feel guilty about doing it! Snuggle Kaley and Chopper too!

    love the Steroids joke! LOL!!

  8. Tim Holton said, on September 24, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Down the home stretch and your winning by ten lengths. Must be the steroids. Keep going buddy, got a truckload of people praying for you. Just got home from my retreat. Was a great one (given by the Jebbies, of course it would be).

  9. paul lester said, on September 24, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Sending lots of prayers and positive thoughts your way. You are almost finished! Get some sleep and then you can party down next week!


Leave a Reply

